VSL SYNCHRON-ized Appassionata Strings (Sordino)

Muted large string ensembles for a broad and emotive cinematic sound

Our price:
£208.99 inc. VAT
  • Free Tech Support
Taxes (VAT) will be calculated based on delivery address at checkout.

With 20 first violins, 20 second violins, 14 violas, 12 cellos and 10 double basses, the muted large string ensembles of VSL SYNCHRON-ized Appassionata Strings (Sordino) deliver a broad and emotive cinematic sound. They lend themselves well to a variety of musical styles, from pop to symphonic arrangements.

The sequel to SYNCHRON-ized Appassionata Strings is also the new, updated and improved version of VI Appassionata Strings II. The muted large string ensembles were recorded in the tight, controlled ambience of Vienna’s purpose-built Silent Stage and placed on the large Stage A of Synchron Stage Vienna using the Synchron Player’s integrated convolution reverb technology.

The ensembles of 20 first violins, 20 second violins, 14 violas, 12 cellos and 10 double basses exhibit a lush, passionate, and beautifully refined sound, masterfully performed with all the subtleties that are essential to create lively and organic string performances. Their broad and emotive cinematic sound integrates perfectly well into a variety of musical styles, from pop environments to symphonic arrangements, from emotional ballads to film scores, from pure string beds to complete orchestral works.

SYNCHRON-ized Appassionata Strings (sordino) comes with an enhanced set of deep sampled “con sordino” articulations taken from the original VI Appassionata Strings II, with a clearly laid out and color-coded structure in the Synchron Player for an intuitive overview and quick access to the vast choices of playing techniques.

The algorithms and capabilities of the Synchron Player, paired with a re-mapped and optimized sample library, allow for a host of usability improvements. The meticulously balanced volume levels of the entire sample database guarantee seamless note transitions when moving from one playing technique to the next. Velocity crossfading has been further optimized for extra-smooth volume changes.

All legato transitions have been considerably improved, and the new release sample technology greatly increases the flexibility and usability of many articulations. Notes such as détachés, crescendos and diminuendos can be played at various lengths and always trigger the correct release sounds. This way, for instance, you can use the first part of crescendo notes as soft portato articulations, or the first part of diminuendo notes as an espressivo technique with a slight decrescendo that sounds very musical and natural.

The reverberation and placement presets created by Synchron Stage sound engineers combine customized impulse responses and Vienna MIR technology with expertly crafted reverb settings for each ensemble so they are placed perfectly on stage. You can also turn off the player’s convolution reverb and algorithmic reverb and place the dry samples in any other environment. By adding the ambience of Synchron Stage Vienna’s Stage A to the dry samples in real-time, SYNCHRON-ized Appassionata Strings (sordino) perfectly blend with any other product of our Synchron Series, resulting in a production-ready sound “out of the box”.


  • Large muted strings ensembles
  • 20 First violins, 20 second violins, 14 violas, 12 cellos, 10 basses
  • Updated and optimized for the Vienna Synchron Player
  • Based on VI Appassionata Strings II

Violins, Violas, Cellos
1st and 2nd violins, violas, cellos
  • Short notes - spiccato, staccato, détaché
  • Performance spiccato
  • Sustained – with regular and progressive vibrato, finding tune, marcato
  • Legato – normal with regular and progressive vibrato, finding tune
  • Legato – sforzato, fast, slurred
  • Portamento – with regular and progressive vibrato, finding tune
  • Sforzato
  • Crescendo and diminuendo – 2/3/4 sec.
  • Tremolo – normal, marcato
  • Arpeggios – major and minor, ringing and cut release
  • Fast repetitions – 150 to 190 bpm, ringing and cut release
  • Pizzicato
Double Basses
  • Staccato short and long
  • Sustained – normal, marcato
  • Sforzato
  • Tremolo – normal, marcato
  • Pizzicato


  • Library Sample Amount: 22,490

  • Download File Size: 2.9 GB

  • Installed File Size: 6.8 GB


Please click on the link below to view the download and install guide for this product.


Customer Reviews

Tech Specs

Product Type:

Virtual Instrument

Product Specs:

System Requirements 


  • Windows 8.1/10 (latest update, 64-bit), Intel Core i5 or AMD Athlon 64 X2
  • OSX 10.10.5, Intel Core i5
  • SSD (M2, SATA 6 or USB3/3.1, UASP Support - HFS+, APFS or NTFS formatted) for the sample content
  • 8 GB RAM
  • VIENNA KEY or other USB-eLicenser (e.g. a Cubase- or Nuendo-Key – Soft-eLicensers and iLoks are NOT supported)
  • Free storage space: 6.8 GB


  • Windows 10 (latest update, 64-bit), Intel Core i7/i9/Xeon
  • macOS 10.12.6 (or higher), Intel Core i7/i9/Xeon
  • 16 GB RAM
  • AU/VST/AAX Native compatible host
  • 88 key master keyboard