VSL Synchron Percussion III

The world's finest percussion instruments recorded in extreme detail

Our price:
£337.00 inc. VAT
  • Free Tech Support
Taxes (VAT) will be calculated based on delivery address at checkout.

VSL Synchron Percussion III is the third and last installment in a series of exquisite instruments, recorded in an extraordinary environment where classic acoustics, groundbreaking technology and professional experience create the perfect formula for excellence. All instruments of this collection were recorded with a multi-microphone setup in Stage A of Synchron Stage Vienna, giving you all the sonic flexibility you can imagine in a percussion library, from pure and pristine touches to heavily processed outbursts.

The ensemble performances of Synchron Percussion III are also included in the Big Bang Orchestra Packs Dorado (Percussion Ensembles), Eridanus (Percussion Ensemble Riffs), and Fornax (Pitched Percussion Ensembles).


All instruments include single strokes in many velocity layers and several round robins, rolls and effect articulations. For many instruments, rolls are available in two variants: “Static” rolls are recorded without changing dynamics and allow you to transition smoothly through velocity layers from pianissimo to fortissimo. “Dynamic” rolls were recorded with their dynamic changes (crescendos and diminuendos) performed over various lengths. You may release the key at any time—the individually matching release samples will be triggered automatically.

The included MIDI loops for Latin percussion instruments make it easy to create rhythms. Just pre-listen to them in the Synchron Player and drag them into your DAW.


Every instrument was recorded using 12 microphones. You may select from four microphone positions of the Standard Library (close, mid, Decca tree center and stereo) and seven positions that the Full Library offers (adding main surround, high stereo, high surround) and mix them to your liking, using the full-fledged mixer of the Vienna Synchron Player.

Mixer Presets

Each instrument comes with a variety of mixer presets that include traditional Decca Tree configurations with variations such as Close, Classical, Wide, Distant and Ambient, but also

processed signals with algorithmic reverb, compression, delays and effects, with presets such as “Low Boom”, “Power Timps”, “Far Away Echoes” and many more. “Surround to Stereo” feeds the surround and high surround mics to the stereo signal for a richer and wider sound. Also included are “Surround” presets for 5.1 applications and 3D audio setups such as Auro 3D and Dolby Atmos.

A special feature of the Synchron Player lets you place each single drum (where available, such as timpani, Monster Drums Ensemble, etc.) in the stereo panorama. Instead of automatically placing the entire setup, e.g., the five timpani, on its spot on stage, you can use the “Output Config” feature to route each close-miked drum to its own channel.

Included Instruments:

  • 5 Timpani (Adams, C2–C4, hit with a hard beater)
  • “Big Timpani” Ensemble
  • Field Drum (Aural)
  • Marching Snare (Yamaha)
  • Piccolo Snare (Kolberg)
  • Snare Drum (Aural Nut)
  • Boobams
  • Monster Drums Ensemble
  • Bass Drums Ensemble
  • Thunder Toms Ensemble
  • Special Drums Ensemble
  • Snare Ensemble
  • Drum Ensemble Riffs
  • Drums & Pianos Ensemble
  • Low Bells & Pianos Ensemble
  • High Bells Ensemble
  • Piatti (Sabian 20")
  • Sizzle Cymbal (Zildjian 18")
  • Splash Cymbals (Zildjian 8", 12")
  • Suspended Cymbals (Zildjian K 18", 12", 8")
  • Ancient Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal Ensemble
  • Super Crashes Ensemble
  • Big Metal Ensemble
  • Small Metal Ensemble
  • High Gongs Ensemble
  • Marimba
  • Temple Blocks
  • Cencerros
  • Hand Bells
  • Rin Bells
  • Jingle Bells
  • Flexatones
  • Car Horns
  • Warning and siren horns
  • Whistles
  • Bird calls
  • Slide Flutes
  • Jingle Ring
  • Congas
  • Bongos
  • Timbales
  • Cow bells
  • Agogo bells
  • Guiros
  • Sandpaper blocks
  • Claves
  • Cabasas
  • Wind chimes


Please click on the link below to view the download and install guide for this product.


Customer Reviews

Tech Specs

Product Type:

Virtual Instrument


  • Stand alone

Product Specs:

  • Requires ViennaKey (Vienna Symphonic Library USB protection device) or other USB eLicenser (e.g., from Steinberg or Arturia)

Mac System Requirements

  • Mac OS X 10.8 (latest update) or higher, i5/i7/Xeon

Windows System Requirements

  • PC Windows 7/8/10 (latest update, 32/64-bit), Intel i5/i7/Xeon


  • Windows 7/8/10 (latest update, 64-bit), Intel i5/i7/Xeon
  • Mac OS X 10.9 (or higher), Intel i5/i7/Xeon
  • SSD or fast separate hard drive (7200 rpm or faster)
  • AU/VST/AAX Native/RTAS compatible host (also works stand-alone)
  • RTAS version requires Pro Tools 7.3 or higher
  • AAX version requires Pro Tools 10.3.5 or higher
  • 88 key master keyboard