VSL SYNCHRON-ized Plucked Instruments

Upright bass, concert guitar and distorted guitar ideal for Classical, Jazz and Rock

Our price:
£193.99 inc. VAT
  • Free Tech Support
Taxes (VAT) will be calculated based on delivery address at checkout.

VSL SYNCHON-ized Plucked Instruments is based on the VI Single Instruments Upright Bass, Concert Guitar and Overdrive, customized and enhanced for the new Synchron Player. Vienna’s editors and engineers updated and re-edited all three instruments to improve their ease-of-use and playability, with the goal of enabling authentic performances as their first priority, especially for playing these instruments on the keyboard.

The team not only improved the sample database, for example by optimizing all release sounds, but also revised and further developed the Synchron Player’s Velocity Crossfade feature to adapt it to the sonic behavior of plucked instruments.

Making use of the Synchron Player’s straightforward preset and patch structure, the wide variety of articulations is clearly laid out and therefore easily accessible, making the instruments and each of their deep sonic possibilities a breeze to navigate and play. Expertly crafted mixer presets with the customized impulse responses of Synchron Stage Vienna for solo and orchestral settings make placing these instruments on the scoring stage or in your mix fast and simple.

Upright Bass

Upright Bass features recordings of a plucked bass with a variety of jazz playing techniques, performed by Bernd Konzett, a well-known jazz bassist from the Austrian state of Vorarlberg. The articulations are played pizzicato and include staccatos, portatos and sustains with various vibrato strengths, legatos, slow and fast glissandos, repetitions, ghost notes as well as single, double and triple upbeats at various tempos. The Upright Bass sample set is rounded off by snaps, noises and various other effects.

Concert Guitar

The Vienna Concert Guitar is the only one of its kind. This hand-made instrument with its balanced, homogeneous sound allows it to stand its ground as a solo instrument as well as in accompaniment, offering single notes and chords. The single notes include various short notes (including Bartok, étouffé and hammer-ons), long notes (including flautando, ponticello, Bartok, étouffé, natural and artificial harmonics), legatos, glissandos, repetitions, tremolos, trills, bends and effects such as harp, golpe, tambora, scratches and chord mutes. The broad range of chords in all keys and various playing positions are offered in the categories of regular, rasgueado, rasgueado rolls and arpeggios, in ringing, secco and stopped variants. All of them are easy to access and combine, using key switches to navigate through the color-coded structure.

Overdrive – Distorted Electric Guitar

Overdrive features distorted tube sound recordings of a legendary Steve Vai signature seven-string guitar, played through a Brunetti XL II R-EVO amp head and a Marshall 1960TV 4x12" cabinet. Along with various short and sustained notes (with or without vibrato, or whammy bar), you get legatos, slides, hammer-ons, pull-offs, repetitions, tremolos, trills, grace notes, natural and artificial harmonics as well as a large variety of scale runs. A special treat are the various flavors of chords, especially the mighty power chords for those about to rock! What’s more, you can make some noise with loads of effects such as feedbacks, scratches, and e-bowed notes. All notes start at B0 on the lower end, extending the range of a standard guitar down a 4th.

Concert Guitar
Short notes
  • Staccato A and B
  • Bartók staccato
  • Étouffé staccato
  • Hammer staccato
Long notes
  • Sustained
  • Flautando
  • Ponticello
  • Bartók (snapped)
  • All articulations with and without vibrato
Long specials
  • Étouffé
  • Hammer
  • Artificial harmonics
  • Natural harmonics
  • Legato
  • Ponticello
  • Glissando
  • Hammer - pull
  • Regular slow, medium, fast
  • Regular crescendo, diminuendo
  • Ponticello slow and fast
Fast repetitions
  • Regular, 140/150/160/180/200 BPM
  • Ponticello, 140/150/160/180/200 BPM
  • Tremolo
  • Trills half and whole tone
  • Bends up and down
  • Harp
  • Golpe
  • Chord-mute
  • Tambora
  • Scratching on E, A, D string
  • Chords regular, rasgueado, rasgueado rolls, arpeggio
  • Major, major 7, minor, minor 7 for all keys
  • Various chords with chromatic mappings: major, minor, dominant 7, maj-7, min-7, diminished, maj-7 #5, min-7 b5, min maj-7, sus4, sus4 min-7
Short notes
  • Staccato short and regular, soft/medium/hard attack
  • Portato short
  • Portato long, with and without vibrato
Long notes
  • Sustained with and without vibrato
  • Whammy bar 1 and 2
  • Artificial harmonics, fifth and octave
  • Natural harmonics up to 3rd octave
Tremolo & trills
  • Tremolo
  • Trills half tone, whole tone, minor 3rd, major 3rd
Grace notes
  • Grace noise
  • Octave (harmonics)
  • Whammy bar regular and octave (harmonics)
Power chords
  • Power chords fourth, fifth, major, and minor
  • Feedback soft and hard
  • E-bow
  • Tuned-down
  • Scratching on E and B string, with whammy bar, and scratch effects
  • Bend legato
  • Soft and hard with and without vibrato, with whammy bar 1 and 2
  • Marcato with and without vibrato
  • Hammer - pull
  • Portato 1 and 2
  • Crescendo, diminuendo 1 and 2
  • Mute 1 and 2
  • Tuned down
Fast repetitions
  • Steady, crescendo, diminuendo at 140/150/160/170/180/200/220 BPM
  • Noise at 140/150/160/170/180/200 BPM
Scale runs
  • Major, up and down
  • Harmonic minor, up and down
  • Octave runs for all keys from C to B
Upright Bass
Short notes
  • Staccato
  • Portato short and long
  • Snap
  • Damp
  • Muted
  • Sustains without vibrato, with light and medium vibrato
Noises & effects
  • Slides up and down
  • Legato slides
  • Finger stop
  • Body noises
  • Arco sustain
  • Legato (slow)
  • Ghost notes
  • Glissando normal and slow
  • All with and without slide noise
  • Repetitions with and without vibrato
  • Single, double, and triple upbeats at 80/90/100/120/140 BPM

Please click on the link below to view the download and install guide for this product.


Customer Reviews

Tech Specs

Product Type:

Virtual Instrument

Product Specs:

System Requirements
  • PC Windows 7/8/10 (latest update, 32/64-bit), Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon 64 X2
  • macOS 10.12 (latest update) or higher, Intel Core 2 Duo
  • SSD (M2, Sata 6 or USB3/3.1 UASP Support) for sample content
  • 8 GB RAM (16 GB recommended)
  • AU/VST/AAX Native compatible host (AAX version requires Pro Tools 10.3.5 or higher)
  • VIENNA KEY (Vienna Symphonic Library USB protection device) or other USB eLicenser (e.g., from Steinberg or Arturia)